Saturday, April 23, 2011

Penang & Putrajaya represents Malaysia in the 17th ASIAN CITIES CHESS CHAMPIONSHIP 2011

The 17th Asian Cities Chess Championship 2011 started in Kartika Chandra, Jakarta Indonesia from 22nd April 2011 to 28th April 2011 with 24 teams taking part from various 17 different countries with time control of 90 minutes with 30 seconds increment.

Top seed is team Shi Jiazhuang from China and boosted by GM Yu Yangyi, GM Li Chao B, Wan Yunguo, GM Wang Rui & GM Zhang Pengxiang while 2nd seeded team Tagaytay from Phillipines is powered by GM Wesley So, GM Antonio Rogelio Jr, GM Gomez John Paul, & GM Laylo Darwin. Third seed team Astana from Kazahkstan were represented by GM Kazhgaleyev Murtas, GM Jumabayev Rinat, GM Kotsur Pavel, GM Ismagambetov Anuar, & IM
Kuderinov Kirill. The host Indonesia send Jakarta & seeded 5 and represented by GM Barus Cerdas whom recently won the Telin Chess International Tournament 2011, IM Purnama Tirta Chandra, GM Megaranto Susanto, IM Lioe Dede & FM Novita Anjas.

Penang lost to team Astana from Kazahkstan while Putrajaya walkover or zero starts rule to Abu Dhabi in the first round.


(Picture taken from Asia Chess)

The Opening Ceremony was opened by Indonesian Youth & Sport Minister Mr. Andi Mallarangeng! FIDE General Secretary Ignatius Leong and FIDE VICE President Geofrry Beorg also was attend.


Team Shi Jiazhuang (China)


Penang (Malaysia) From right to left: NM Tan Khai Boon, Chuah Heng Meng, Looi Xin Hao, & Elgin Lee Kah Meng. Penang lost to Astana (Kazakhstan).


Round 1 22 April 2011 14:00 16:00
Round 2 23 April 2011 00:00 Midnight 10:00
Round 3 23 April 2011 16:00 18:00
Rest Day 24 April
Round 4 25 April 00:00 Midnight 10:00
Round 5 25 April 16:00 18:00
Round 6 26 April 10:00 16:00
Round 7 27 April 00:00 Midnight 10:00
Round 8 27 April 16:00 18:00
Round 9 28 April 00:00 Midnight 10:00
Closing 28 April 19:00
Departure 29 April

No comments: