Sunday, March 15, 2009



Its all systems go for the 2009 National Inter-Cities and Municipalities Chess Team Championship to be held on April 11 – 15, 2009 at the Robinson Mall, Hacienda Luisita, in Tarlac City, Philipines.

This annual event, organized by the National Chess Federation of the Philippines (NCFP) headed by Chairman / President Prospero A. Pichay Jr. & Secretary General and Tagaytay Mayor Abraham Tolentino and hosted by Tarlac City, headed by Mayor Genaro “Aro” Mendoza offers a total cash prize of P300,000.00 for the top ten teams with the Champion earning 100,000.00 while the 2nd to 10th placers receive prizes as follows: P60,000, P40,000, P30,000, P20,000, P10,000, P8,000, P7,000, P5,000, P5,000. Individual Board 1 to 5 topnotchers each receive P3,000 and gold medals.

Each team may field a minimum of four (4) and a maximum of five (5) players including only one titled player (grandmaster, International master, FIDE master or national master)

Expected to defend their title is Cebu City who won the championship last year in Bacolod City.

Registration is on going, please contact NCFP Executive Director Willie Abalos cel # 0929-2266210 / 0929-2390644 / 0928-5513089, NCFP Office 381-7224 or Tarlac City Sports Director Arnold Rodriguez cel # 0920-2972652 or E-Mail

Source: National Chess Federation of Philipines

No comments: